Tanya Tagaq wins the 2014 Polaris Music Prize for Animism

The 2014 Polaris Music Prize was handed out on Monday September 22, 2014 in Toronto. The $30,000 cheque went to Tanya Tagaq for her release Animism, beating out Arcade Fire, Basia Bulat, Drake, Jesse Lanza, Mac DeMarco, Owen Pallet, Shad, Timber Timbre, and Yamantaka//Sonic Titan.


The thankful Tagaq urged the sold out audience to eat seal, and “F*CK PETA”.

Past Polaris Music Prize winners.

2006 Final Fantasty – He Poos Clouds

2007 Patrick Watson – Close to Paradise

2008 Caribu – Andorra

2009 Fucked Up – The Chemistry of Common Life

2010 Karkwa – Les Chemins Des Verre

2011 Arcade Fire – The Suburbs

2012 Feist – Metals

2013 Godspeed You! Black Emperor – Alleluljah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s